The Death of Hitch

(Author’s note: this essay was originally posted Dec. 29th, 2011 on my academic portfolio website;  I moved it here because I thought it more appropriate to a blog space)

Christopher Hitchens died, I suppose not improbably for such a pugilistic intellectual, of esophageal cancer, though the official cause was pneumonia, according to the New York Times obituary.

I have not read enough of his work.  And I’ve read  a good bit:  Why Orwell Matters, The Trail of Henry Kissinger, Letters to a Young Contrarian, and of course God is not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything.  As well as the collected essays, which I adore – not always for the point he makes but how he makes it.  Even when I disagreed with Hitchens, I continually admired his ability to intelligently articulate his argument.  (Continue reading…)

Leave a Reply

